Feature

untitled-1

Talking Politics Over a Cup of Coffee at Jacksonville Beach

The clock stuck 1 p.m. at the local Jacksonville Beach Starbucks on third street as customers picked up their orders called out by description. “Iced caramel latte,” yelled the server. The strong aroma of coffee filled the air of the room, along with the conversations between friends, and continuous clicking coming from laptops.

Among the endless chatter, was talk about the upcoming election on November 8.

“As far as the issues go on both the national and local level, I think they’re both equally as important, but I feel like in our communities is where we start to make a difference,” said Frankie Matthews, a current resident of Jacksonville Beach when asked what issues are important to her.

She sat at a small wooden table next to the front window of the room wearing an over-sized, black tank top that sat wrinkled on her black leggings. The temperature in the room was low enough for you to see the small goosebumps protruding from her tan arms and chest as a result.

Frankie is one among than eight thousand millennials living in Jacksonville Beach, and plans on going to the polls to cast her ballot. Similar to the millennial generation, she is an active participant in her social community, and uses social media platforms to communicate her thoughts about issues important to her.

“If I don’t try and make a difference starting in my community, how can I make a difference in the world,” she continues. “I wasn’t born in Florida, but I’ve lived in Jacksonville Beach for years and I consider it home, and when I vote I’ll have my community’s best interests at heart,” she explains.

“For me that’s starting here.  I feel like everyone can make a difference. When we come together we are an unstoppable force, Frankie says passionately in response to how she feels the millennial community can make an impact in the election.

 

##

 

Leave a comment